Too Lazy for Egg Salad

Honestly, I’ve never actually eaten egg salad in my life. So this post may be super misleading, oh well. Call me a phony, go ahead. I have nothing against egg-salad, I loooooove hard-boiled eggs, but there is just something about all that mayo that makes me think, “Eh, I’ll pass.”

Mayo: you either love it or hate it. I’m ok with it as long as I don’t know it’s in something, but you will never catch me willingly putting mayo on or in anything I’m making. I’m all about subbing greek yogurt instead.

The other morning I was in need of a quick, hearty breakfast that I could scarf down in 3 minutes or less, so I decided to make this weird little combo and to my surprise, it was pretty damn tasty.

This certainly will not be everyone’s cup of tea, but this is my blog, my little corner of the internet and I like this toast so I’m posting it.

Without further ado, here’s a toast with something other than avocado for once!

What you need:

  • Multigrain bread
  • Nonfat  Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Hard-boiled egg, sliced or mashed
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Trader Joe’s “Everything But the Bagel” Seasoning

What to do:

  • Toast bread
  • Let bread cool for a sec (you don’t have to do this but for me, the thought of putting cold yogurt on hot toast just kinda freaks me out a bit)
  • Spread a thick layer of yogurt onto cooled toast
  • Give a generous sprinkle of the TJ’s seasoning as well as salt and pepper
  • Top with hard-boiled egg
  • Season some more and if you’re up for it SIRACHA !

That’s it. Not sure if it tastes like egg salad but it tastes damn good and photographs well. What more could you ask for?

Leave a comment